Portfolio Recovery Associates


120 Corporate Boulevard
Norfolk VA 23502
888-772-7326
http://www.portfoliorecovery.com/


Additional Known Phone Numbers:
757-519-9300 620-662-8870 731-984-7690 866-691-3568 866-879-2116 866-299-6414 866-547-5473 804-931-1061 866-658-7508 847-678-9710 620-662-1492 800-772-1413 800-860-0644 800-722-1413



Homer N. Inman8/31/10
Portfolio Recovery Associates has a disturbing and unethical history of Junk Debt Collection Practices, Now being investigated by The Federal Trade Commission. Such practices violate the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act that was passed in 1977 to protect consumers from abusive debt collectors such as Portfolio Recovery Associates.

Example One: Portfolio Recovery Associates will do a Hard Inquiry on an individual via a credit reporting agency such as Trans Union without the consent or authorization of that individual. Generally a Hard Inquiry is not allowable for JUNK DEBT (A debt that has passes beyond the statute of limitation in your state)
Example Two: Portfolio Recovery Associates knowingly and illegally use Coercion and/or blackmail to manipulate individuals into believing they are legally liable for a JUNK DEBT. Remember, a JUNK DEBT is NO LONGER Legally Collectable. If You are being contacted by Portfolio Recovery Associates via phone? DO NOT ENGAGE IN ANY CONVERSATION WHAT SO EVER. DO NOT IDENTIFY YOURSELF - USE A PHONE ANSWERING MACHINE TO ANSWER ALL YOUR CALLS - YOUR GREETING SHOULD NOT IDENTIFY YOU OR YOU, LAST NAME ETC. -

Example Three: Portfolio Recovery Associates and other JUNK DEBT Collectors will try to engage an individual to start making good faith payments on a JUNK DEBT (A debt that has passed beyond the statute of limitation in your state and is NO LONGER Legally Collectable) These Good Faith Payments might be next to nothing of an already discounted debt. Why? Because as soon as you agree to make those next to nothing payments...

IT BECOMES A NEW AND LEGALLY BINDING DEBT.. THAT MEANS IT GOES ON YOUR CREDIT REPORT AND IT CAN BE COLLECTED IN A COURT OF LAW OR OTHER MEANS AVAIABLE to these JUNK DEBT BOTTOM FEEDERS.



virginia1/13/11
I WAS CONTACTED BY PORTFOLIO RECOVERY ASSO. BACK IN OCTOBER. THEY WERE TELLING ME THAT I WAS IN DEBT FOR 11,000.00 DOLLARS FOR A CREDITOR I NEVER HEARD OF. THIS COMPANY COULDN'T EVEN TELL ME WHAT THE DEBT WAS FOR. EXAMPLE: DEPARTMENT STORE,MAJOR CREDIT CARD COMPANY, ETC. I KEPT ASKING QUESTIONS ABOUT THE DEBT. BUT THEY NEVER HAD ANSWERS. THEY ALSO TOLD ME THAT IF I PAY 6,000.00 UP FRONT THE DEBT WOULD GO AWAY. I TOLD THEM GOOD LUCK ON THAT!!!! I HAVE SINCE CHECKED MY CREDIT AND IT SHOWS THEY DID AN IQUIREY ON ME WITHOUT MY PERMISSON. I TRIED TO HAVE IT TAKEN OFF BUT I WAS UABLE TOO. IT SHOWS A TOTAL OF 6 INQUIREYS. THE STATUS OF LIMATATIONS IN TX IS 4 YRS. AND 10 YRS FOR THE LAWSUIT. AND IF THIS IS A REAL DEBT. ALL THE STATUS HAVE RUN OUT. I HAVE DONE ALOT OF RESEARCH ON THIS COMPANY. AND I HAVE NOT FOUND ONE GOOD THING ABOUT IT. THIS HARRSMENT NEEDS TO STOP!!!



Erika1/30/11
Portfolio Recovery was sending me "Demand Notices" for a couple of years, for a debt I did not owe. As soon as I rec'd the notices, I wrote in red, "I DISPUTE THIS ENTIRE DEBT!", signed, dated & returned them. Then the harassing phone calls began… for months & months. I finally wrote a lengthy, threatening, letter enclosing copies of my previous responses, & advising them that I record all phone conversations. I re-iterated my position that I did NOT owe this debt, that I am fully aware of my rights under the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act and my State Laws. Should they continue to harass me, I would not hesitate to report them to my State Attorney General, the Federal Trade Commission, as well as pursue legal action, if necessary. That was one year ago, and they never bothered me again …..UNTIL TODAY! I just received from these horrid people a Form 1099-C for the amount of the "debt" they claim to have written off on my behalf! OK, now they're messing with my finances. NOW they're asking for it! I do NOT make idle threats. I WILL follow through with the promises in my letter to them. The only way to deal with these people is to play hardball right from the start. Maybe if everyone does, they will finally be shut down!!



Ivette O2/10/11
About a year ago, I started to receive phone calls from this company. They were trying to contact some one by the name of Ricardo Rios, Unknown to me. I ignored the phone calls for a year, because it didn't bother me at the time. My phone has a voice recognition, and it tells me whose calling me. If the phone does not mention a name, I will not answer the phone. Well, this changed a few months ago, when they had the nerve to call my phone number on a Sunday. I was a collector for several years while in college, it's an ugly job to hold. I know my rights as a consumer, so I contacted the company to explain the situation, and the person would allow me to 2 seconds of conversation, so I hung up on the person. I wrote a letter explaining the situation, and informing them that the phone number no longer belonged to a Richardo Rios, nor did I have any knowledge as to whom he is. In the letter, I demanded that they stop the phone calls and harassment, and that I had evidence of the phone calls, which I intended to supply the FTC, BBB, General Attorney of California and Virginia. I sent copies of the letter, and the evidence to each of the organizations mentioned above. Each letter was mailed out certified. So far, the phone calls and harassment have stopped. Write letter to each of the agencies mentioned above, your congress, and your senators. Write to every government agency and politician until some one decides to look into this company for fraud.



M. G.//
I owe credit card money to wells fargo since 2007. this years, i got the money to pay them back. so i called well fargo 1 800 number and the referred me to 1800 772 1413 (Porfolio Recovery). so i calle them and i payed (they had all my information! now, they took my money out of my account. I NEED HELP TO GET THIS BASTARDS!... we need to start a big demand, and take this people to prison.

Don believe to what they say.



D. P.3/31/11
I've been receiving calls from Portfolio daily for I don't now HOW long. They even call me on Sunday, claiming it's because they couldn't "get me all week"...This is for an alleged acount from 1996! I've never even had my own credit card. I was a user on one of my mom's which was paid off back in 2003.(Portfolio bought "the account" in 2007). I will admit that I did confirm my identity with them, but they do not have my current address. The statute of limitations applies to the orginal creditor, right? I've been reading online and now I'm worried I've reopened this case. I told them I want the debt validated; show me my application with my signature and transaction history...they're sending a form for me to complete and notarize. NOT HAPPENING. I don't want to give them any more info about myself. What can I do? I live in a different state now; which state's statutes do I go by? My former, current, or the original creditor? I don't even know who they are! I want to be well informed so I can properly address this matter. Any suggestions?



E Jarvis//
I have been receiving calls from Portfolio for 5 or 6 years (I've decided to see how long they'll "keep in touch". They're very persistent!) They claim I had a credit card opened in 1991 (not) and they were collecting on it. I had been a victim of a minor ID theft shortly before that, so, in a good faith effort to help and to find out what the other person (someone I knew, sadly) had done, I asked them to send me details of the debt; issuer of the card, dates, account history, etc. They sent me a statement of debt amount. They were unable to show the debt was actually mine or what the circumstances leading to "collection" were. I know that, regardless of the source of this debt (even if it WERE mine), I am not required to pay it. They take a gamble buying collection accounts that companies have written off and then try to collect on them. What ever they get people to pay goes in Portfolio's pocket. Check you state's laws on this and every year get your FREE ctedit report from all three credit agencies at www.annualcreditreport.com. This is the only site the gov endorses. it really is free and it's quick and easy. If it doesn't show, it's probably not your's



C.S4/10/11
I recently checked my credit report and find one collection item from Portfolio. Unfortunately I called them, they have all my details and told me I have a due $$ amount (XX electric and Power where I lived 5 years ago). I paid all my bills before I left. Accidentally I have given my all info including my SSN and payed the amount over phone and told me this collection item will be removed in 21 business days.

Now am worried how they got all my details. Is there a way to sue this kind of frims.



Graham Walker4/11/11
I hate to say this but these people are a total scam they do their best to get people to pay debts which they bought for as little as a penny on the dollar and then try to restart the SOL so they can collect on it plus interest.

So please everyone do not pay a single penny until you make them prove in writing that the debt is collectable and that you truly owe it!

I immigrated here (legally) back in 2009 and they tried their best to make me pay a credit card account that went back to 1997. It took legal action to make them stop for 9 months then lol and behold once I took out my first US credit card 3 months ago they have started calling again re the so called original debt.

This time I am going to sue for damages too as they have placed a collection inquiry on my credit report that has dropped my credit rating from 784 to 687!!




Ellis4/14/11
These people have been after my butt for a while. Sometimes I give the reps a hard time just because they're a bit snotty with me on the phone. But today Anthony called and he really wasn't such an asshole to me so, after doing his best to answer all my questions, and I ask a lot, he satisfied my need to have him vouch for his company and get me to make the measly payment that I rightfully owed. Sometimes I know the people they chase make them hate their jobs, but just thought I'd give someone his "props" for doing a good job. Here's to my rep "Anthony #22831"



PRAHater4/26/11
Plain and simple.... Screen ALL your calls and if a # comes up on caller ID that says " private " or " out of area " just let them record the BS and then delete it. It's a shame that the right to privacy has been circumvented by these law-breaking dolts. Good luck screeners!



Mary5/2/11
Thanks for all of the info on this web page. Very helpful. Portfolio has again reared its ugly head; four calls on my caller ID in the past two weeks while I was vacationing. Hopefully they do not get my cell number. This page explained the term "junk debt", a term not known to me. Our problem occured in 1999 and was straightened out in 2000 or so I thought. I sent the documentation, a cancelled check, to a different collection agency. The calls and letters stopped. Then in 2005 Portfolio began its pursuit. Off and on for 7 years; they only go away for a few months at a time. I guess this is what junk debt means. They purchase non-debt and pursue it forever after.



Richard Harwell5/2/11
These people are morons! they call me at all hours, even today as i walked out of church. that was the final straw. They cannot show me anything proving i owe this debt, no contract, no signature, nothing. i have no idea about this air cell phone bill from they said 10 years ago. They are scammers and i have contacted the police due to the harrasing phone calls and will be contacting my lawyer tommorrow. They will be paying me by the time i am done. SCAM Scam Scam..... well, now it will cost them!!



Jason5/3/11
Portfolio began contacting me several months ago about a U.S. Cellular bill that I supposedly still owe from 2002. This was the first notification I have ever received in regards to that bill. The worst part is, this debt has been out of statute for some time now and they have no recourse to make me pay it. It's only $100 bill but I am sure that I already paid it. The thing is, I could have them validate the debt for me but I'm sure whatever they send me will say that I owe it. Then it would be on me to prove that I already paid it and that would be pretty much impossible since that was over 9 years ago. They wanted me to send in a dispute letter but I figured it would be a waste of time since I could prove I paid it. I just figured since it was only $100 bill they would not keep wasting their time calling me on an out of statute debt. I was wrong. They called again a couple weeks later. I advised them at that time I was not going to send in a dispute letter. I advised them that they needed to stop calling me on my cell phone. Needless to say, I received another call today. This particular rep said that I need to send the request in writing. Technically by law that is true, but it still boggles my mind that they would keep wasting their time calling me. Even worse, they actually would have PAID money to a skip service to locate me. Do they really think I'm stupid enough to pay them? I have faxed in a cease and desist letter to them but from what I'm reading I am not too hopeful that will work. After doing some research on them, it sounds like they are pretty shady. Part of me hopes they keep calling me. Being a manager at an agency, it's actully a little fun being on the other end of this.

On another note, some of you made comments that Portfolio put hard hits on their credit reports. After reading this, I became concerned and pulled my own. They DID inquire on my credit report but it was under the section that said it was only for my eyes. It was on there but in no way affected my credit rating.



Lisa5/7/11
It all started last year around February of 2010, my landlord called me out of the blue and told me that he had been receiving phone calls from a debt collector. he said they had been harassing him for months and he finally asked who they were looking for, he was told my name and that I had a debt with them (which I know is in violation of federal law). They traced my address and found the name of the complex where I live and called his office number, dirty low down tactic. I called them and asked why they involved my landlord and that they had no right to tell him anything, then began the whole cycle. They did have a debt that I owed to a electronics store, a small debt that was outstanding. I womaned up and told them I'd pay it and again WHY DID YOU HAVE TO CALL MY LANDLORD? No answer. They wanted $75 a month until the debt was cleared, told them like most of the country I was on unemployment and this was impossible. I started sending them $20 or so a month, to their cargin, and of course the automated system called me at least five times a week because in their words I didn't give them a bank account number and I wasn't set up for automatic payments. Now it's May of 2011, unemployment has run out, they still call a few times a week over this small bill (it can't be more than $150 now), but I'm not paying them anymore (I have other bills and concerns). I have reported them to the BBB, and another government agency. At this point I neither care if they call again, the debt is way too small for them to sue on and I resent the fact that they did not report it so it does not reflect on my credit report. If they call my landlord again, I'm suing them.



Patrick7/15/11
these morons keep calling me and staying I owe a bill from 1997 from best buy, I never had an account from best buy. I have told them this and they still call.



Submit A Review For Portfolio Recovery Associates
Your Name


Other Collection Agencies:
Borack and Associates | Asset Acceptance LLC | Sovereign Exchange Group Inc | RSI Enterprises Inc | Aegis Financial Group Inc | Southern Service Systems Inc | Kubler Corporation | Rapid Recovery & Professional Billing Inc | Faslo Solutions Llc | Checkredi of Alabama Llc | Litigation Mediation Group Inc | LAW Offices of Bradley J Rephen Pc | RJM Acquisitions Funding Llc | Midpoint Resolution Group Llc | World Omni Financial Corp |

Contact Us | Privacy Policy